Home > Disconnected, Transmarginal Inhibition > I can’t take the suspense

I can’t take the suspense

Yesterday, when I wanted to put some thoughts onto a e-paper and publish them onto the great big world wide web, I found my blog had been suspended by wordpress. Why oh why? A nice message said that I had contravened the terms and conditions and they had pulled my blog. It was like I was never even here. Erased from time. Except for a few cached pages in some major search engines. I was, at first, a little pissed. After all, I rather like some of my writing on this blog. I think some of it is even fairly good……when I’m feeling the muse, I can write fairly well. But then, I kind of figured – eh, doesn’t really matter if the blog is here or not. And then my ego thought….eh? yes it does, at least I should get the better posts and publish them elsewhere. A sort of online portfolio of my writing if you will.

Actually, I was surprised to find how many of my pages were cached by a few of the larger search engines. So I cut and paste a bunch of my posts into notepad and saved them to my harddrive…..thank you google. thank you yahoo.

Of course, my blog is no longer suspended. I managed to stage a little get out of jail by sending off a nice email or two to wordpress. They released my blog from purgatory on the condition that I removed a few links from my blogroll. Oh well. I wasn’t really in a position to bargain, since they had all my writing and all, so I did. And now I’m back. With the proviso that I don’t try and make money from this blog. Fair enough. The blogroll links that I had were to other mmo sites that I don’t control, which I did point out, and I guess that’s why my blog was released. Now I’m not sure if I’m on some sort of wordpress watch list, but I guessing I should tread a little carefully on who and what I link to. See, even if you have no control over other sites you link to, you will still be tarred with the same brush as they are to a certain extent. I’m not even sure how my blog came under scrutiny – I don’t get much traffic. I don’t get much attention. And wordpress has a ton of other blogs out there. But lightening does strike somewhere πŸ™‚

And that got me thinking about WordPress and Blogger again. Google/Blogger allows complete freedom on their hosted platform because their ideal sollution the internet is to have every page on the internet slathered with adsense ads. That would make google much more money. They shot themselves in the foot a little when they made their adsense page matching algorithm too clever and now they’ve got the old interest based advertising going so that even if you visit a page outside your normal sphere of interest, you’ll still get ads relevant to what you like to do/see. So they get more clickthroughs and they get more money. Blogger is built on the idea that google really just wants to own every piece of internet real estate.

I’m not sure what wordpress wants to accomplish, but I think, on the wordpress hosted side of things anyway, they really just want people to write good content. Heck, it doesn’t even need to be good. But it does need to play a little bit by their rules. Fair enough, it’s their house.

My god are you still reading this. I’ve rambled on and on and on with a bunch of not very coherent thoughts. I wanted to post something about technology. I guess I’ll have to do it another time.

Take backups kiddies.

  1. June 19, 2009 at 16:22

    Fair enough I suppose. But a bit crap. Have you considered using some kind of free web host – http://beaconhosting.net/ for instance (be sure to use AdBlock Plus when using the control panel) – so that you are pretty much self-hosted, with that flexibility, but still free?

  2. underdogblogger
    June 19, 2009 at 18:47

    hey Josh – thanks for the link, I’ll check it out. I’ve had the most of my moderate success with free initiatives on blogger……but the blogs I host with them aren’t particularly interesting to read πŸ™‚

  3. September 6, 2009 at 18:06

    yes, i know this post is several months old. i don’t care, i’ll comment anyway…

    why bother with free blog hosting at all? you’re always losing something, whether it’s your choice of themes or, in the case of blogger, an even remotely usable back-end. hosting is cheap enough these days that you can pay like US$4/month for the basic basic basic package, which is all you really need for a single blog, and a lot of them will install WP for you. just sayin’ πŸ˜‰

  4. underdogblogger
    September 7, 2009 at 16:25

    quite right Chris. I have no problem with the technical side of things – I write code for a living and such, but this blog originally set out to explore how to make money online with free resources. I’ve abandoned that theme now and I don’t post much here anymore, but for what it is, and the traffic it gets, it just isn’t worth the domain name fees to me….. πŸ™‚

  1. June 11, 2009 at 09:15
  2. June 19, 2009 at 08:04

Leave a Reply

