Home > Flotsam > If i have food in my fridge than i am we

If i have food in my fridge than i am we

Most bizzarre search phrase to bring me traffic so far:

if i have food in my fridge than i am we

Yep.  I kid you not.

Back in the day, when I was a young pup in my bedroom with a cheesy Samick guitar with genuine Floyd Rose locking trem and a rather shitty purple tie-dye like spray paint job under an inch of laquer and a cheap marshal amp, Joe Satriani was just hitting the guitar scene in a big way.  Well, him and Steve Via.  I never really got into Van Halen.  Though he be the demi-god drummer turned guitarist of two handed tapping, his music was too catchy….too pop for me.  I wanted different. I wanted unique.  I wanted cool.  I devoured every copy of guitar magazine I could get my hands on.  Learned stairway to heaven….which is practically mandatory isn’t it?  Yep, but I distinguished myself by learning from a transcription of a live performance rather than the studio recorded version.  Yeah!  Anyway, if I had been a moment or two later, I would have been into rave I guess.  Timing is everything.

I was reading an article in The Guardian about “greatness”.  Well I think it was about greatness.  Maybe mastery would be a better word.  I suspect the author was more interested in mastery.  The article explores why some people just make it and some don’t.  And by make it, the article largely assumes that amassing large quantities of money and or being famous or well known defines made it. Personally, I think that’s bullshit, money is our socially constructed form of barter, but it doesn’t make one person better than another.  And therein lies a lot of the problem with our society.  The notion that a person who has money is better than a person who doesn’t.  Bring a country…..nay an entire world up to believe this and you should not be surprised to find the kind of shit that we experience in our society.  There is an old fable about a man who used to walk around his village every day with his door on his back.  One day someone asked him – “grandfather, what is that door on your back?”.  The man replies “why, it is my front door”.  Asked again “grandfather, why do you carry your front door on you back all the time?” the old man replies “because every time I leave it at home, someone breaks it down”.

More on the article in the guardian another time.

Categories: Flotsam
  1. Dan
    November 27, 2008 at 11:22

    Lol, what a weird search term to bring in a visitor!!

    I agree with you on ‘greatness’ though – celebrities aren’t essentially ‘great’ – some gf the greatest people in history we probably don’t remember, but ask someone about Jade Goody…

  2. Dan
    November 27, 2008 at 11:23

    I actually meant to write Kerry Katona…but the two are bllurring into one person for me, lol!

  3. underdogblogger
    November 27, 2008 at 16:47

    hahahaha – yeah kerry katona, jade goody…..i’m not sure anyone could tell the difference which makes it all the sadder.

  1. November 27, 2008 at 09:17

Leave a Reply

