Home > Flotsam > Approval ratings are down

Approval ratings are down

(or where I tell you why your comment did not get approved)

C’mon – really who the hell posts obvious comment spam on such a low volume shitty blog like this? You know who you are, and I’m not approving that shit. Add something useful without trying to blag in a few backlinks to your made for adsense site. I got nothing against trying to earn a crust online. I’ve got a few sites that I’ve set up to try and earn a little from adsense…..but I don’t go round trying to get backlinks like a wanker…….Leave a comment, by all means, but including spurious links inside the comment rather than just getting the more “honest” backlink from the link on your name is just being an asshole.   Heck, I would even have approved it if you put your preffered anchor text as your name and left something vaguely sensible.  Besides anything else, you must know that comments are nofollow by default….

So why? Why do you masquerade with your seemingly appropriate on-topic comment which will only gain you nothing in the long run? Don’t do it. Just don’t do it.

Meh, don’t know why I’m writing this, you probably aren’t a repeat customer anyway.

grrrrr!

Categories: Flotsam
  1. Dan
    November 19, 2008 at 13:50

    I’m a repeat customer! Luckily my blog hasn’t got that much spam on it, all quite nice comments from decent folks!

    Maybe you should name and shame the spammer and then I will hack the shi…I mean…tell them off…sternly.

    🙂

  2. Dan
    November 19, 2008 at 13:51

    Oh, and dude, part of your post is in black text…is it meant to be that way? I had to highlight it to read it, lol!

  3. underdogblogger
    November 19, 2008 at 14:00

    erm – yes that was a bug erm feature…

    lol…yeah tell them off sternly that’ll do it everytime 🙂

  4. November 23, 2008 at 02:47

    I had also experienced this with one commenter, he included in his comment an anchor text and a link in it. I let it go for the first time. But if he repeat it again, I would certainly mark his comment as a spam

  5. November 24, 2008 at 20:38

    lol, how many spam comments can you get that it makes you this mad?
    Idk why people try to spam links on a nofollow blog with no pr.

    Im another lucky one who gets all good comments. Or at least comments from people that read MOST of the post.

  6. underdogblogger
    November 25, 2008 at 11:50

    @Riyanne – sounds like a fairly sensible policy – maybe I should be a bit more lenient.
    @TheArdit – what can I say dude, spam makes me craaaaaaaaazeeeeeeeeeeeee!

  7. November 28, 2008 at 05:08

    Dude, growing spam means that your blog popularity is growing also. Just add proper spam protection and you’re good to go. With WordPress, Askimet is a must. Congrats!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

