Home > Potential > October Expense Report

October Expense Report

(or where I buck the Income Report trend on make money blogs)

Well, here it is……The end of another month online and the end of another month making money on the internet for free.  I’m not going to give you the traditional Income Report, because, well because everyone does that, and I know that those of you who aren’t making any money online just get jealous reading about all the dollars flowing into our pockets.  And jealousy is bad.  Ok?  Ok.  good.  So I thought a blog expense report would be the way to go.  I think if every blogger who was making money for nothing on the internet showed an expense report, a lot less people would try getting into this industry.  Of course, I suppose that would be bad.  Cause then we couldn’t flog you our books on the new super secret method never before revealed guru’s own way of making piles and piles of cash on the old internets.  It would put a lot of people out of business.  Why?  Well, lets take a small side step and do a little basic Accounting course……

Accounting 101 with the Underdogblogger

Yep.  Accounting 101 – Net Income is not something many blogs talk about.  But net income is essentially Sales – Cost to create goods – Operating Expenses.

In the make money on the internet crowd, I normally see Income reports that are more what I would call Sales.  The cost to create the sales/goods and the operating expenses are overlooked.  And I believe if we take these into account, then you have a very different view of how much money you can make on the internet.  Now cost to create goods and operating expenses sort of blur, so we will treat them as roughly the same thing.  This can include your hosting costs (amortised per month), your domain name costs (if you’ve bought one), your electricity used running your pc, your broadband charges, even the wear and tear on your computer if you are going to get all anal about it.  Sales – well obviously this is the money you bring in.  You know those pretty screen shots every long ass sales letter has showing you the money rolling in to the old paypal account.  Those are sales.

Ok, back to my expenses report.  Now I’m going to do something unique here, I’m going to include labour charges.  Labour you say?  Yes!  labour!  Because time spent doing this could be spent doing something else.  I’m going to assume a nominal charge of £6 and hour, which is a little above minimum wage here in the UK.  that’s about 9 dollaaaaaahs 60, but fuck it, the USA used to be a colony right?  So were gonna work in pounds for a change!  And we are going to put “u” into labour, and honour no matter what the crappy spell checker says. Hah! Ok expense report:

Cost of domains: £0
Hosting: £0
Labour: £180
Other expenses: £10

I’m estimating other expenses ’cause I can’t be bothered to work it out, but I figure it covers electricity for use of my computer and depreciation of said pc, as well as broadband costs and a delicious latte made on my Saeco Superautomatica

Total expenses: £190.  You Americans can go to xe.com to get the dollar version.  You will notice that I spend no money on the domains or hosting, because I’m on a quest to make money on the internet for free. That means I use free resources to make money online.  Griz manages to do it as outlined on his make money for beginners, and I figure I fall right in there (the beginner bit).

Now, imagine if the “A” list celebrity bloggers put down and expense report.  Imagine their labour cost alone.  Because I reckon most of those guys have egos the size of small nations and won’t be seen dead valuing their time at 6 quid an hour.

Yeah.  Well there you go.  This has been another cynical non-money making blog post brought to you by your favourite Underdogblogger.  Hope you enjoyed the novelty value alone.  More importantly, behind my cynicism is a serious point.  Making money online for free will, in a rather unseemly oxymoronic display, cost you…..in time alone if nothing else.  Don’t be mislead by all those income reports.  It’s not all money for jam.

Btw, happy halloween.

Oh man, I can’t resist posting something about this whole Andrew Sachs prank call thing.  I mean c’mon Brand and Ross should be fired, not for the content of the show, but for the fact that the show wasn’t funny when it was meant to be comedy.  And how about Georgina Baillie?  aka Voluptua?  Did you say attention whore?  Shame on you…. 🙂 That girl sure saw a quick way to 15 minutes of fame.

Categories: Potential Tags:
  1. Dan
    November 2, 2008 at 11:21

    Haha, loved the spellchecker bit!

    It’s true you hardly see expense reports on mmo blogs, and as you put it, its so people don’t see how much money people ‘actually’ made. That way you can show an income of $2000, but not show you actually spent $2500 on getting that money. Its a shame, but the big guys wouldnt do otherwise their name would be mud!

    I also agree with the whole making money online for ‘free’ thing, but I like having hosting up online, as it allows me to build and test websites that I can put up for sale – and I pay a minimal amount for it.

    On the side note…I just think Russel Brand should be shot, can’t stand the idiot, lol!

  2. underdogblogger
    November 3, 2008 at 08:35

    Hey Dan – exactly – as an A lister, the last thing you want is for people to see the “expenses” side of the game.

    I’ve been meaning to try a few site flips myself, but I haven’t made time to do it yet…..

    lol@shooting….yeah for my money though, I would prefer hanged, drawn and quartered.

  3. November 4, 2008 at 11:52

    I never say that I make money for free online.

    Maybe you’re not spending any money to make money online, but you sure are spending your time to make this money, and in many cases your time is far more valuable than money.

    Cheers,

    The Moneyac

  4. underdogblogger
    November 4, 2008 at 14:32

    Hi Moneyac
    Exactly!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

